Dental dysphoria: Transgender medical procedures trump essential dental care across the US

Why does Medicaid pay for sex changes and not for dental care? Well-researched article looking at the costs of government funded transition medical services.
Sidenote: I live in Canada on disability so my dental care is paid for. Which is good because as I get older I keep getting multiple cavities. 4 last month! 😫

4thWaveNow

by Worriedmom

Tax time rolls around again, all too soon, and as I tally up the itemized deductions for my 2016 return, I realize, to my sadness but not my shock, that once again this year, our dental expenses are close to $13,000. Between four adult children needing a variety of dental services, and the fact that my husband and I are beset with age-related dental woes, some months I think I pay our dentist’s office rent all by myself. Although my husband has a generous medical plan through his employer, it does not cover dental expenses, other than those incurred in an accident, and this is typical of many employer-provided benefits packages. So, we pay.

And when I pay, I take a moment to think about the people who can’t pay – but they still have teeth. What do they do? What happens to them?

First, if you’ve ever…

View original post 2,876 more words

Leave a Reply

